Connect with us


Three New Supreme Court Judges Sworn In By President Akuffo-Addo



Three new Supreme Court Judges sworn in by President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo on Wednesday

Three new Justices of the Supreme Court were sworn in by President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo on Wednesday,

with the goal of assisting in the establishment of a judiciary that has the respect of the Ghanaian people.

Justice Henry Anthony Kowfie, Justice Yaw Asare Darko, and Justice Richard Agyei Frimpong are the recently sworn-in judges.

At the Jubilee House Banquet Hall in Accra, the President gave them the judicial oath and the oaths of allegiance and confidentiality.

President Nana Akuffo-Addo urged the judges to remember that

“We have a judiciary that commands the respect of the people through the quality of the delivery of justice as well as the comportment of its judges”

nana addo and supreme court judges
President Nana Addo Dankwa Akuffo-Addo and newly sworn supreme court judges

in order for the country to continue growing.

According to President Akufo-Addo, making wise and defensible choices is the best approach

for the judicial branch of government to win over the public’s admiration.

“Applications of the laws of the land must occur in the words of the judicial oath that you have just taken, without fear or favour, affection or ill-will, and, therefore,

without recourse to the political, religious, ethnic affiliations of any citizen of the land or any person before you,” President Akufo-Addo said.

Nana Akuffo-Addo stated that the newly appointed judges had been chosen to cover the judicial vacancies resulting from

the mandatory retirement of three Justices of the Supreme Court from their positions.

The Chief Justice, Justice Anin Yeboah, Justice Jones Dotse, and Justice Nene Abayaateye Ofoe Amegatcher are their lordships.

Chief Justice Anin Yeboah retired on May 24, 2023; Justice Jones Dotse departed the court on

June 8, 2023; and Justice Nene Abayaateye Ofoe Amegatcher retired on February 3, 2023.

Follow Us