Connect with us


Censure Motion Against Ofori-Atta Fails As Majority Boycott Voting



The Minority Chief Whip, Muntaka Mubarak Mohammed, and Minority Leader Haruna Iddrisu’s resolution to criticize the Minister of Finance and call for his ouster was unsuccessful.

This was a result of the failure of the motion to attain the constitutional two-thirds of the membership of the House.

After the secret balloting, done in the absence of the Majority Members (MPs), who staged a walkout to have nothing to do with the resolution, 136 NDC MPs voted while there were no abstentions nor ‘No’ votes.

To that effect, Speaker Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin stated“The vote is accordingly lost.”

Meanwhile, the resolution had been sent to an eight-person ad hoc committee by the Speaker for consideration, but more significantly so that the Finance Minister could be heard.

And to that effect, speaker Bagbin defended his choice to refer the measure to the committee prior to the secret ballot saying:

“The public hearing has vindicated my decision. The referral of the motion is proper and in accordance with the law. The House may now proceed to debate the motion.”

The Secret Vote

Speaker Bagbin requested secret vote in accordance with Article 82 of the 1992 Constitution following the discussion from both sides of the House.

That was when the Majority MPs staged their walkout and this comes despite an agreement that Mr Ofori-Atta should not continue his role as Minister owing to the issues related to the economy.

Meanwhile, Minority Leader, Haruna Iddrisu commended the Speaker for his tenacity in conducting the vote of censure and said for the purposes of records and posterity, he will be recognized as contributing to an important democratic exercise.


Stay tuned for more interesting news updates.

READ ALSO: NUGS Tells Gov’t: Be Concerned About The Effects of The UTAG Strike And Others

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow Us